SCEFL History

The Southern Counties East Football League is an English football league for teams based in Kent and the South East, which was established in 1966. Until 2013 it was known as the Kent League.

The first Kent League was formed in 1894 and folded in 1959. Despite many of the same clubs having spells in membership, there is no direct connection between the two competitions.

The current incarnation of the league was formed in 1966 as the Kent Premier League (changing to Kent Football League in 1968), and in its early years many of its members were reserve sides of Southern League teams. Gradually, the reserve sides were all shifted down into the lower divisions.

In 2013 the league changed its name to the Southern Counties East League, to reflect the fact that not all of its member clubs played within the county of Kent.

At the end of the 2015–16 season, the league merged with the recently formed Kent Invicta League and the latter became the lower division of the merged league.

Therefore the Southern Counties East Football league now operates two Divisions. The Premier Division is at Step 5 of the Non -League Pyramid with the First Division at Step 6. The promoted teams from the Premier will enter the Isthmian League at Step 4 with relegated teams from the First Division likely to enter the Kent County League at Step 7.

Like was the case for most all of the leagues at our level, the 2019-20 and 2020-21 Seasons were both abandoned due to the Worldwide Covid-19 pandemic. The 2019-20 season was approximately 75% completed but was made null and void. The 2020-21 Season was only around 25% through and was curtailed.

The 2021/22 Season saw play-offs introduced at Step 6 from which the winning side were promoted from our First to Premier Division.

With further border changes we now go into the 2022/23 campaign with 38 teams, some with us for the first time.

Below is a list of Champions since the League was formed in 1966.

Year – Champions

1966–67 Margate Reserves

1967–68 Margate Reserves

1968–69 Brett Sports

1969–70 Faversham Town

1970–71 Faversham Town

1971–72 Chatham

1972–73 Sheppey United

1973–74 Chatham

1974–75 Sheppey United

1975–76 Sittingbourne

1976–77 Medway

1977–78 Faversham Town

1978–79 Sheppey United

1979–80 Chatham Town

1980–81 Cray Wanderers

1981–82 Erith & Belvedere

1982–83 Crockenhill

1983–84 Sittingbourne

1984–85 Tunbridge Wells

1985–86 Alma Swanley

1986–87 Greenwich Borough

1987–88 Greenwich Borough

1988–89 Hythe Town

1989–90 Faversham Town

1990–91 Sittingbourne

1991–92 Herne Bay

1992–93 Tonbridge

1993–94 Herne Bay

1994–95 Sheppey United

Year – Champions

1995–96 Furness

1996–97 Herne Bay

1997–98 Herne Bay

1998–99 Ramsgate

1999–2000 Deal Town

2000–01 Chatham Town

2001–02 Maidstone United

2002–03 Cray Wanderers

2003–04 Cray Wanderers

2004–05 Ramsgate

2005–06 Maidstone United

2006–07 Whitstable Town

2007–08 Thamesmead Town

2008–09 VCD Athletic

2009–10 Faversham Town

2010–11 Hythe Town

2011–12 Herne Bay

2012–13 Erith & Belvedere

2013–14 Whyteleafe

2014–15 Phoenix Sports

2015–16 Greenwich Borough

2016–17 Ashford United

2017–18 Sevenoaks Town

2018–19 Cray Valley Paper Mills

2019-20 Season Abandoned

2020-21 Season Abandoned

2021-22 Sheppey United

Below is a list of the Step 6 League winners from 2011 when the Kent Invicta League was formed then through its change into the SCEFL First Division in 2016.

Kent Invicta Football League

Season – Champions

2011–12 Bly Spartans

2012–13 Phoenix Sports

2013–14 Hollands & Blair

2014–15 Hollands & Blair

2015–16 Bearsted

SCEFL First Division

Season – Champions

2016-17 Glebe

2017-18 Punjab United

2018-19 Welling Town

2019-20 Season Abandoned

2020-21 Season Abandoned

2021-22 Stansfeld

Check out our Archives sections for more information about the League and from Non League football in the South East.