Premier Division


The Annual General Meeting of the League was held on Saturday 22nd June 2019 at the Village Hotel, Maidstone.

Here is a summary of the Key Points from the event.

The League would like to thank their special guests for their attendance;

Phillip Smith, Kent FA Chairman and an FA Council Member

George Dorling, London FA Chairman and an FA Council Member

Louise Dorling, retired academic and FA Council Member

Cyril and Wendy Windiate, Retiring Kent County League Chairman and his wife.

The League Constitution for 2019-2020 was confirmed and is as follows;

Premier Division: AFC Croydon Athletic, Bearsted, Beckenham Town, Canterbury City, Chatham Town, Corinthian, Crowborough Athletic, Deal Town, Erith & Belvedere, Erith Town, Fisher, Glebe, Greenwich Borough, Hollands & Blair, K Sports, Lordswood, Punjab United, Sheppey United, Tunbridge Wells and Welling Town.

First Division: Bridon Ropes, Croydon, FC Elmstead, Forest Hill Park, Greenways, Holmesdale, Kennington, Kent Football United, Lewisham Borough (Community), Lydd Town, Meridian VP, Rochester United, Rusthall, Snodland Town, Sporting Club Thamesmead, Stansfeld and Sutton Athletic.

Congratulations were given to Cray Valley PM for their promotion to the Isthmian South East Division at Step 4 and for their excellent FA Vase run to Wembley.

Congratulations were given to Welling Town for their First Division Title victory and to Erith & Belvedere for their promotion to the Premier Division.

The League welcomed Greenwich Borough back into the SCEFL.

-SCEFL League Officers were elected and are as follows;

President – R.W. Brown

Chair – Ms. Denise Richmond

Vice Chairman – J. Moules

League Secretary – A. Short

Discipline Secretary – M. Ewen

Treasurer – L. Dyson

Referees Officer – I Bentley

Fixture Officer – M. Panting

Registration Officer – D. Francis

Thanks were given to Derek Peck, who now retires from the position of League Secretary. He will be given the role of Vice-President.

– Election of Club Representatives to the Management Committee
Eligible without nomination : Premier Division – Roy Benton (Bearsted), Laurence Plummer (Hollands & Blair) Steve Lewis (Lordswood), First Division – Hugh Sullivan (Holmesdale), Terry Reeves (Snodland Town), Richard Leach (SC Thamesmead).

– FA Standardised Rules for season 2019/20 were adopted.
– League Cup Rules were agreed upon with the change of an fourth substitute being allowed to be used by Clubs if the game enters Extra-Time.

– The League has now entered the final stage of it’s transition to becoming a Limited Company. Canterbury City and Lordswood agreed to become it’s first members before the rest of the Clubs follow behind. All League assets and liabilities are being transferred to this new Company. The board will be confirmed shortly.

– All Clubs left with Bibs, Balls and Boards as the League continues to show it’s support to all Clubs within. The expectation is that the Nike Balls will be used throughout the season and more can be ordered via this link.

That concludes the summary of the key events from the AGM. Full details can be gained from the club representatives that were present and from the minutes which will follow.

Following Lunch the afternoon concluded with the presentation of some End of Season Awards and Announcements.

The thoughts of everyone at the League go to John McFadden, Erith & Belvedere, and Joe Ford, SC Thamesmead who are suffering with ill health. We wish them the best of luck with their recoveries and hope to see them back at a game as soon as possible.

– Respect Award – First Division Overall Winner – FC Elmstead

– Respect Award – Premier Division Overall Winner – Cray Valley PM

– Best Club Compliance to League Rules – Joint Winners – Lydd Town and Beckenham Town

– Best Hospitality – First Division – Lewisham Borough

– Best Hospitality – Premier Division – Deal Town

Voted for by fellow clubs in their Division this award went to the teams that were most welcoming to the visiting sides and supporters.

– Golden Boot – First Division – Harry Harding, ( Collected by Erith & Belvedere)

– Golden Boot – Premier Division – Paul Vines, (Collected by Chatham Town)

– Kent Senior Trophy – Winners – Chatham Town

– SCEFL Challenge Cup – Winners – Chatham Town

– SCEFL First Division – Winners – Welling Town

– SCEFL Premier Division – Winners – Cray Valley PM

The afternoon ended with the thanks from all at the League to Cryil Windiate, Kent County League Chairman, who has just retired after being KCL Chairman for the last 35 years. His closing speech will be remembered by us all for a long time.

Best of luck to all clubs competing in the SCEFL Divisions this Season. Initial fixture release has been pencilled in for around 20th July ahead of the Season start of 3rd August.