First Division

First Division Play Off Final


4 May 2024-3:00 pm
Half Time: 0-0
Larkfield & New Hythe
Staplehurst Monarchs
Full Time


Saturday 4th May

First Division Play Off Final

Larkfield & New Hythe 1-0 Staplehurst Monarchs

Larkfield & New Hythe have won promotion to the SCEFL Premier Division following a single-goal victory over Staplehurst Monarchs.

This was a nervy Play-Off final, of few chances, played in front of a huge crowd of 828 at the Eden Estates Stadium.

Caine Smith twice went closest to giving Staplehurst the lead. In the first half his lob just sailed over Jordan Carey’s bar before the Larkfield keeper saved superbly from a Smith header early in the second half.

The Larks goal came just after the hour mark and resulted from some good work down the left by the Division’s Golden Boot winner Matt Day. He won’t get his name on the scoresheet for this one though as he instead assisted a deflected Own Goal from a Staplehurst defender.

Timmy Babington came close to adding another for the Larks but their main aim in the final stages of the game was to run the clock down – which they did well.

When there was no time left Referee Ayden Gillespie’s whistle signalled the end of the match and with that the end of Larkfield & New Hythe’s stay at Step Six.

Club Captain Fraser Walker didn’t get to play today but he did get to lift the trophy and once the hangovers are gone all at the Larks need to prepare themselves for a Premier Division season.


Match Report – Kent Online

Match Report – Kent Sports News

Match Report – Kentish Football

Match VLOG – Tonbridge Fan TV